4 Comments

Slight 'diversionary' idea for you. What are you doing on Instagram? I think pics are a big part of the way to encourage people to subscribe. I'd be running pics of the places you 'visit' each day on your Instagram feed and encouraging people who follow you there but don't subscribe to CF to do so. I'd also set up an IFTT feed to auto post them to Twitter. I use one and it's cool. You get the Instagram pic in your twitter feed rather than just the link. Cheers! J

Expand full comment

Hmmmm.. I love the diversions, but I can't help but think I'd love *even more* to read about them in the context of the "itinerary-ish" pieces... like, a fictional tale of travel fate... TBH as I have been reading the dailies, I keep thinking, "this all sounds way too easy... where are the stories about accidentally drinking the dish water?" (which I did once) or "Does he ever take the wrong train/bus/boat?" (like I've done more times than I care to admit) etc., etc... I guess I'm wanting some mis-adventure, if that makes sense. Because those stories are the funniest, and what makes travel so dang fun ... even if miserable in the moment. But that might be a bit harder to craft, so feel free to completely ignore my feedback, and go with your original idea, which I am still apt to read! :D

Expand full comment